Cookie monster… nom nom nom

This post isn’t entirely about cookies, it’s also about our dinner tonight. I’ve been craving stuffed shells for a while. And oh man, I’m so happy now. Happy and stuffed… just like the shells 🙂 I found this recipe on Annie’s Eats, but omitted the spinach, because B isn’t a huge fan of greens in his baked pasta. I also added some mozzarella on top in addition to the parm, just because. It was a pretty standard stuffed shell recipe, but using sausage really made it delicious. And I’m excited about the amount the recipe made, because we now have dinner for a few days, and another small pan to freeze until later!

Now onto dessert…

The other day, as I was waiting for one of my coworkers to bring in the girl scout cookies we all ordered, I was thinking of the lemon creme cookies that I couldn’t wait to eat. I also thought it would be pretty awesome to make some sort of lemony sugar cookie with frosting. Luckily, one of my friends out here had the same idea, as she posted a recipe for lemon sugar cookies on her blog at about the same time. So, props to Charity for the cookie recipe, and I’ll pat myself on the back for the frosting.

I love that you can see the lemon zest in the frosting too. It was amazing 🙂 I just threw together a basic cream cheese frosting and added some of the leftover juice and zest from the cookies.

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • about 2 oz cream cheese
  • 1 cup powdered sugar (2 cups if you want a thicker frosting, I just didn’t feel like it this time)
  • splash of lemon juice
  • however much lemon zest you want, I like a lot, because I’m a pretty huge fan of citrus

Mix, and spread on cookies!

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookie monster… nom nom nom

  1. cbraceros says:

    ooh… i’m going to have try with the frosting 🙂

Leave a Reply

