“I love you…

… and this is the best chili I’ve ever had.” That’s what Bryan said when he tried this 🙂

I’ve made some good chili before, but I agree that this one is the best! It was spicy and meaty and perfect for the cold weather we’ve been having.

My new favorite chili:

  • 1 – 1 1/2 lb ground meat (I used a 20oz package of ground beef)
  • 15oz can of kidney beans, drained
  • 15oz can of black beans, drained
  • 29oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 29oz can of tomato sauce, plus about half a can of water
  • small can of fire roasted chilis
  • med. onion, diced
  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, diced and some of the seeds removed
  • probably 5-6 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • red pepper flakes, depending on how hot you want it
  • sriracha, also depends on personal preference
  • vegetable oil

Heat a large pot with a little vegetable oil in the bottom. Add the meat and cook thoroughly. Remove to a separate bowl. Add a little more oil (probably 1 tbsp, but I didn’t really measure) and saute the zucchini, onion, and jalapeno until soft. Add the meat. Pour in the tomato sauce, water, canned tomatoes (undrained), beans, and chilis. Add spices. Let simmer until chili has reached the desired thickness. We got distracted playing Mario Kart, so I think it simmered for about 2 hours. I apologize for the vagueness of some of my recipes, but I am bad about writing things down that I come up with myself 🙂

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

