the weekend!

Yay! My weekend is already off to an awesome start. I managed to get in a run last night even though it was freaking cold (not as cold as I’m used to in Indiana, but definitely cold for Seattle). We also got pad thai for dinner (!!) and bought Mario Kart for our Wii! This morning I thought I’d prepare us for wandering around Kohls by making some cranberry orange muffins. We got the wedding cake toppers in the mail yesterday, and I wanted to test them out.

Note to self: don’t wash plastic trophy figures with soap, they are sticky now and the silver paint is coming off in some places. They should be okay, but at least they’re cheap and I can order more if necessary.

I used my mom’s recipe for cranberry nut bread, minus the nuts, and made 2 mini loaves and about 10 muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 c. orange juice
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. cranberries (i chop most of them them so they don’t all float to the top)
  • 1 tbsp orange zest

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour pans, tap out excess flour. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl. Combine sugar, orange juice, oil, and eggs in a second bowl. Stir into flour mixture, add cranberries and orange zest. Stir until no traces of flour remain. Pour into pans, bake for 50 min (20 min for the muffins worked out pretty well for me) or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cover with foil if the tops are browning too quickly. Cool 10 min. on wire rack, then remove from pans to cool completely.

I also made a glaze from powdered sugar and orange juice and drizzled it over the loaves. mmmmmm.

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

