Saturday!

What a lovely day 🙂 I went for a nice, sort of long run and then Bryan and I went on a small adventure to downtown Seattle. Although really all we needed to do for an adventure was get on the 358 bus (or as we like to say, 3-shifty-8). It’s always interesting… but it was fun getting coffee and walking around on the waterfront. The bus ride back was also a real treat. But one of the best parts of the day, in my opinion, is the mac and cheese I made for dinner. I tried something a little different since we didn’t have the pepperjack that I normally use. It was delicious, but I definitely like my other version better.

Macaroni and Cheese

  • 16 oz pasta
  • 12 oz shredded cheese (I used cheddar)
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 3 serrano or jalapeno peppers, diced and most of the seeds removed
  • 1/2 of a red pepper, diced
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • salt and pepper
  • chili powder and red pepper flakes (optional, but we like our mac n cheese spicy)
  • breadcrumbs

Preheat the oven to 350. Bring a pot of water to boil and add the pasta. While the pasta is cooking, add 1/2 tbsp butter to a skillet. Add the peppers and saute until tender, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

Melt 2 tbsp butter in a saucepan and whisk in the flour. Cook, stirring frequently, for a couple of minutes, until the mixture starts to turn light brown. Add the milk and whisk until no clumps of the butter/flour mixture remain. Cook, whisking frequently, for about 5 minutes, until the mixture starts to thicken. Reduce the heat, and add the spices. Add the cheeses and whisk until completely melted.

Pour the cheese sauce over the drained pasta and add the peppers. Mix until the pasta is evenly coated with cheese, and pour into a casserole dish. Top with breadcrumbs. Bake for 25-30 minutes until the breadcrumbs are golden brown.

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

