B is for beer

We brewed beer today! A group of us went to a place up in Edmonds that lets you choose a style of beer to make, and then we’ll go back in 2 weeks to bottle our tasty brew. It was like the most awesome chemistry lab ever. I just hope it’s as delicious as I think it will be! I went for a run when we got home, and did surprisingly well considering I had beer sloshing around in my stomach.

Earlier this week, I went to happy hour with some coworkers to a place downtown near the waterfront. I tried the spaetzle, which I’d never had before. It was so good and covered in parm so it was like a delicious salty German mac n cheese. I just knew I had to try and re-create it at home. I loved the texture, and after looking at recipes, it seemed pretty easy to make. So I thought I’d give it a shot tonight. It was so good and will definitely be making more appearances at our dinner table 🙂

Here is a basic recipe. I replaced the fresh parsley with maybe a tsp of dried.

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • pinch of freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • parmesan cheese

Mix together flour, salt, nutmeg, and pepper. Beat eggs well, and add with the milk to the dry ingredients. Mix until smooth. Press dough through a spaetzle maker or a large holed sieve or grater (I just used 2 spoons to drop small amounts into the water). Drop a few at a time into a pot of simmering water and cook until they float to the top, about 3-5 minutes. Drain well. Saute in butter or margarine. Sprinkle parsley and parmesan on top. I made some honey mustard glazed pork chops to serve with it. So good!

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!, Fun!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

