Pi day!

Happy Pi day to all my fellow nerds šŸ™‚ I was trying to figure out which pie to make when I remembered the half bag of cranberries in the fridge from the cranberry orange bread. Since apple pie is probably #2 or 3 on my list of favorite pies (with rhubarb being #1…. oh man, I can’t wait until it’s in season again!), it sounded like a perfect combo. I made cranberry apple crisp a while back and decided to incorporate that into a pie.

I used my new favorite crust recipe from Annie’s Eats, which has given me delicious buttery flaky crust every time. Nothing against my mom’s classic crust with shortening, it’s just a little hard to find these days, and I always have butter on hand. I just made the recipe for a single crust, since I was going to cover it with the crumb topping. I adapted this recipe, replacing the pears with more apples and using flour in place of cornstarch. Of course, I saved a little of the crust to make the “pi” for the top.

Apple Cranberry Crumble Pi

  • 1Ā  9-inch pie crust, unbaked
  • 5 granny smith (or other good baking apple) apples, cored and sliced – I didn’t peel them, because I love the peels
  • about half a bag of fresh cranberries
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

Crumb topping

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Make pie crust, chill for about 30 minutes, and roll out into 9-inch pie plate and trim the edges, keeping the extra dough. Preheat oven to 375.

Combine apples, cranberries, lemon juice, sugar, flour, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl and mix until the fruit is evenly coated.

Prepare the crumb topping by combining the ingredients in a medium bowl and mixing the butter in until it forms large crumbs.

Place all of the fruit in the pie crust and cover with the crumb topping. Place a cookie sheet in the bottom rack of the oven to catch any juices. Bake at 375 for about an hour, or until the pie is bubbling. Cover with foil if the top starts to brown too quickly. Let cool for 30 minutes. Serve with ice cream!

Oh, and Bryan gave this pie 3.14 out of 3.14 stars šŸ™‚

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

