Kiss me…. I’m Belgian?

As the title says, I’m not Irish. But I love any holiday that involves drinking good beer and partying with friends… so pretty much all holidays. I also love green, so that works out well too, since I never have to try very hard to find something green to wear.

I had planned to make these last night and bring them to work today, but that didn’t happen. Something about going for a run and then needing food for dinner and not wanting to bake cookies at 9pm. Oh well. It was nice to come home and drink some Guinness 🙂

I’ve been wanting to make whoopie pies for a while now, ever since I saw a recipe for pumpkin ones. I still need to make those, but I’m not really into pumpkin unless it’s fall, and then I eat enough pumpkin for a whole year. I found this recipe while looking for a booze-y dessert to make. However, I used cream cheese frosting instead of the Irish Cream. Washington is lame and doesn’t sell liquor in grocery stores, and I didn’t feel like driving to 2 different places. For a place that claims to be eco-friendly and turns its nose up at the rest of the country, some of their laws are a bit backward. We may love our huge pickups in Indiana, but at least you can get everything you need at one store.

Also, I might have added lemon extract instead of vanilla to my frosting. Oops. I tried to scoop it out and cover it up with extra vanilla. Meh…. it’s okay. At least it’s green! And it still tastes great, actually not bad with the stout flavor of the cake. I don’t recommend it though, not quite what I was going for.

Chocolate Stout Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Frosting (I halved the original recipe, and ended up with about 16 whoopie pies

  • 1/2 cup stout
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 3/8 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/8 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (I just sprayed it with nonstick spray – forgot to buy parchment paper at the store).  Put the stout and butter into a saucepan and heat on low until the butter is melted.  Turn the heat to medium and bring the mixture to a simmer. Whisk in the cocoa powder and set aside to cool.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda. In another large bowl, beat the sour cream and egg until combined. Slowly add the stout mixture and beat until combined. Add the flour mixture and mix until the flour is moistened, then fold together with a spatula. Place the batter in the freezer for a few minutes to make it easier to scoop.

Use a small cookie dough scoop or tablespoon to drop the batter onto the cookie sheet, leaving about 2 inches between them. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until they are set. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Spread with frosting and enjoy! Store them in an airtight container in the fridge.

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

