One of my faves

I’m not sure where this recipe came from, but my mom started making it a few years ago and I’ve been in love ever since. The copy I have just has page numbers on it, so I apologize for using it without proper referencing 🙂 It’s really quick and easy, as long as I remember to thaw and marinate the chicken beforehand. However, I’ve made it without the marinade, and it tastes just a good, so it’s nice to have a relatively forgiving recipe that can be made in a pinch. Enjoy!

Lime Peanut Ginger Chicken

  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tbsp sliced ginger root
  • 1 tsp whole peppercorns
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon peel (i used lime)
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 2-3 cups sliced mushrooms (i used crimini)
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch diluted in 2 tbsp water (i actually have never used this and i feel like the sauce is thick enough, actually a little too thick sometimes)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup sliced green onions

Cut chicken into bite-size pieces and marinate in lime juice for at least 2 hours in refrigerator. Make dressing by chopping garlic, ginger, and peppercorns in food processor or blender until pepper is no longer whole. It will probably be impossible to break up all the peppercorns. Blend in basil, soy sauce, vinegar, honey, water, and grated lemon peel. Pour 2 tablespoons olive oil into the processor or blender and process until smooth. Set dressing aside.

Remove chicken from marinade and saute it in sesame oil and the remaining 3 tablespoons of olive oil until it turns white. I added the mushrooms once the chicken was cooked, but the recipe has you add them at the end. Add dressing and stir until the chicken is well coated and the sauce is warm. Mix in peanut butter. Add cornstarch mixture to thicken sauce, if desired. Sprinkle green onions on top and serve over rice.

Serves 10

Note the beer in the background. It’s good, you should try it.

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

