Rhu-bars???

I love rhubarb. Next to citrus and strawberries, it’s one of my favorite “fruits” to incorporate into desserts. I’m not sure what it is, really. It reminds me of celery, which I don’t care for, yet I generally see it used as a fruit. Regardless, rhubarb gives me a nostalgic feeling like no other food. I remember my mom making homemade rhubarb pie and I remember myself devouring it right out of the oven. Honestly, I can’t remember not liking rhubarb. It’s just one of those things that I’m pretty sure I fell in love with the first time I tried it. I’m also definitely a purist when it comes to rhubarb. While I certainly wouldn’t turn down a strawberry-rhubarb pie, I prefer my pie sans strawberry. I love strawberries, but I feel that they take away from the unique tart flavor of the rhubarb.

So last weekend was the first time I bought rhubarb this summer, and I’m already craving more 🙂 I wanted to do something a little different from the standard pie that I usually make with it, mostly because I didn’t feel like taking the time to make and roll out pie crust. I had made this recipe last summer, and thought it would be great with rhubarb in place of peaches. I was so right! It was amazing, and I’ll definitely be making it again. I think I’ll add more rhubarb next time (I used 6 or so larger stalks), because I like a lot of fruit in my fruity desserts. However, I need to satisfy my craving for rhubarb pie first 🙂

About Mally and the B

I love to cook, but I can never remember all the tasty things I've made. This will help :) I also enjoy photography, so I will be sharing photos of my adventures in Seattle and anywhere else I go.
This entry was posted in Food!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

